Volunteers

By Sue Alenick
United Way Volunteer

Volunteer once a week, once a month or once in a while. The listings below are a sample of the 300+ volunteer needs from more than 250 agencies found online at www.unitedwaycc.org. More information available at 860-1677, Mon.-Fri. from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

.

EVENING VOLUNTEERS

ANEW Place is looking for volunteers to provide oversight and support for guests during the evening meal and activities from 6:45-10 p.m., one night a week. Interview required. Contact Hannah Andersen at 862-9879 or Hannah@anewplacevt.org.

.

ON THE BOARD

Two local groups are looking for volunteers to serve on their non-profit boards: Puppets in Education: “Try on” being a Board Member for a six-month term, attending monthly meetings and a live performance of a puppet presentation at a school, helping with fundraising, etc. Contact Deb W. Lyons at 860-3349 or Ddb@PuppetsinEducation.org. YWCA of Vermont: Seeking women with financial management skills, facilities/property management expertise, racial justice interests, and/or connections to grassroots communities. Members attend regular meetings, serve on one sub-committee and support fundraising events and activities. Contact Terry Melton at 862-7520 or terry.melton@ywcavt.org.

.

GET THE PICTURE

Vermont Senior Games Association is seeking an amateur photographer to help the marketing director capture the excitement and success of varied statewide competitions from March to October. Events include golf, horseshoes, weightlifting, swimming, cycling, etc. Contact Janet Nunziata at 656-4220 or jnunziata@uvm.edu.

.

A DRIVING NEED

American Cancer Society is in need of “Road to Recovery” drivers to help drive cancer patients to and from regularly scheduled treatment appointments. A reliable vehicle and good driving record are required. Contact Patty Cooper at 872-6302 or patty.cooper@cancer.org.

.

HAULERS NEEDED

Bike Recycle Vermont is looking for volunteer scrap haulers to load metal scrap onto a trailer and transport by bike it to processing sites. Bike and trailer provided. About 1-1/2 hours per haul. Riders should commit to ride every two to three weeks. Strong bike-riding skills important. Contact Christine Hill at 223-0722 or christine@localmotion.org.

.

WALK WITH A (4-LEGGED) FRIEND

Cathedral Square Corporation has many residents with 4-legged friends who need human friends to walk with. If you can volunteer an hour or so once a week, you’ll make both 2 and 4-legged friends very happy. Contact Beth Alpert at 861-3297 or alpert@cathedralsquare.org.

.

CULINARY COMPETITION

Vermont FEED is sponsoring Jr. Iron Chef VT for middle and high school youth to create healthy, local dishes. Volunteers are needed on March 21 for 2-hour shifts to help with registration, set up and clean up at the Champlain Valley Expo in Essex Junction. Contact Amy Gifford at 434-4122 or amy@nofavt.org.

.

ZUMBATHON

Women Helping Battered Women presents the 7th annual Zumbathon to support domestic violence programs on March 28. Volunteers are needed to help with set up, clean up and event running at Higher Ground in South Burlington, 2 hour shifts from 10-4. Contact Caley Holden at 658-3131 or caleyh@whbw.org.